Raikkonen takes pole position at Monza

Ferrari’s Kimi Raikkonen set the tone for the Italian GP, by taking the pole position at the Monza track as the Italian outfit locked out the first row.

In the first run of Q3, the Iceman was behind the provisional pole sitter Lewis Hamilton. In the second round, both drivers improved their time, but the Finnish driver clocked the best time.

Sebastian Vettel finished second in the timesheet, coming 0.161s slower than this teammate. Hamilton was the third fastest driver on the grid and was followed closely by Valtteri Bottas at fourth.

Max Verstappen came the fifth fastest in today’s final qualy as Haas driver Romain Grosjean became the first from the midfield.

Renault’s Carlos Sainz wasn’t far behind at seventh, continuing the duel for the best of the rest spot.

Force India driver Esteban Ocon’s best efforts got him the eight place on the grid. He was followed by Toro Rosso driver Pierre Gasly at ninth and Lance Stroll was a surprising 10th place holder. This is the first time Williams’ car got into Q3 in 2018.

The Ferraris taking the first row in their home race, added to the momentum they built in the last one makes the Italian Grand Prix as an interesting fight.

Daniel Ricciardo and Nico Hulkenberg both did a representative lap but did not take part in the shootout as they both will be starting from the back of the grid due to engine penalties.

Italian GP Qualifying Timesheet

1) Kimi RaikkonenFerrari1:19.119
2) Sebastian VettelFerrari+0.161
3) Lewis HamiltonMercedes+0.175
4) Valtteri BottasMercedes+0.537
5) Max VerstappenRed Bull+1.496
6) Romain GrosjeanHaas+1.817
7) Carlos SainzRenault+1.922
8) Esteban OconForce India+1.980
9) Pierre GaslyToro Rosso+2.231
10) Lance StrollWilliams+2.508
Knocked out in Q2
11) Kevin MagnussenHaas1:21.669
12) Sergey SirotkinWilliams1:21.732
13) Fernando AlonsoMcLaren1:22.568
14) Nico Hulkenberg*RenaultNo time set
15) Daniel Ricciardo*Red BullNo time set
Knocked out in Q1
16) Sergio PerezForce India1:21.888
17) Charles LeclercSauber1:21.889
18) Brendon HartleyToro Rosso1:21.934
19) Marcus EricssonSauber1:22.048
20) Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1’22.085

What’s your Reaction?

Leave a Comment